The Best Ever Potato Cheese Soup

Standard

This is a soup my Sister LaRae got from a pot luck at work it was like 32 yrs ago. It is so delicious I had to share it with you. My family loves it so I make it every winter.

POTATO CHEESE SOUP

1 lb of bacon ( I use the thick bacon so I fry about 8 slices ) save the bacon grease!

3 to 4 tomatoes

1 bunch of green onions

5 lbs of potatoes or as much as you like. I like lots of potatoes so I make a big pot that covers 2 burners and do 10 lbs.

8 to 16 cups of Chicken broth

1 can of green chilies. Lg or small  what ever you like or as many as you like.

1 can of milk

and a bunch of cheese ( we like Monetary jack or Mozzarella cheese )

Fresh French bread and butter

 

CS18

This is the thick bacon I buy. So first you fry the bacon then set it aside.

 

CS17

While the bacon is frying I’m cutting up the tomatoes

 

CS16

and green onions to put in the bacon grease.

 

CS15

Then you let it cook for about 20 min.

 

CS19

While I’m frying the tomatoes and green onions in the bacon grease I’m peeling the potatoes and cutting them like this.

 

CS20

Now I put like 8 cups of water then I put 4 tbs of the chicken broth powder and whisk away. You can put it to your liking you can also use canned broth what ever you like.

 

CS14

So I have the potatoes cooking til tinder.

 

CS7

Chop the bacon

 

CS6

grate the cheese

 

CS8

Here I have the green chilies and the can of milk waiting to be put in the soup.

After the tomatoes and green chilies are done add them to the boiling potatoes and Chicken broth.

Then add the green chilies and bacon to the soup.

When the potatoes are tender and ready to eat add the milk and some cheese.

Have a bowl of cheese ready so people can put cheese in their own bowls to there liking.

 

CS5

Here is the soup with everything in it ready to serve.

 

CS2

It’s served and ready to eat! Oh wait one more thing.

 

CS3

You have got to have some fresh french bread and butter with it.

I hope you enjoy the soup!

Thank you for taking the time to read my blog and have a blessed day.

Merry Christmas and Happy New Year

Love you

Lady Beth

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a comment